Monday’s Gluten Free Ladyfingers

Well holy hell it’s been awhile! Almost an entire year! I guess you could say that I finally caught up with life. In a big way… A big white fluffly way.I’ve done some cooking and baking in the past year, but not as much as I would have liked to do. We’ve had other things pop in life, but lets just say that keeping up with this little white furball has kept me running ragged and not particularly in a baking mood. For instance, in preparation for today’s recipe, I had to leave the house to replace a 5 lbs bag of granulated sugar that this little devil managed to tear into and spread all over our floor. And when I returned she had gotten a hold of an entire paper towel roll, both beaters, and the piping bag. Thankfully everything could be rescued. Well not all of the papertowels, I’d say about half of them died a gruesome death. Do we see why baking has suddenly become more difficult? But today I do get a chance to share some baking news despite the aforementioned setbacks. I’m testing out the King Arthur Gluten Free Multi-purpose Flour today for a batch of gluten free lady fingers all in anticipation for….

Gluten Free Tiramisu. Mmmmm. Who says you can’t be gluten free and enjoy the sweeter side of life right? Actually pavlovas take care of that issues superbly as well, but let me assure you…that day is soon to come. So what do we have on our plate for our gluten free week? Well today is going to be our fantabulous lady-fingers that I mentioned above. I believe I will post the lovely byproduct of the gluten free lady fingers, aka the tiramisu, tomorrow. Then how about testing out a new recipe for a white chocolate pavlova on Wednesday? Methinks yes. but we must also interject all this goodness with some savory greatness as well correct? How about a Caribbean pork loin on Thursday?

Okay enough of temptations 🙂 Onto the recipe!

6 eggs, separated 

1 tsp vanilla extract

12 Tbsp granulated sugar

1.5 cups sifted King Arthur Flour multi-purpose gluten-free flour (Or feel free to experiment with your own gluten free flour!)

6 Tbsp powdered sugar

Yields: ~48 cookies

Pre-heat oven: 350 F

In large bowl beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Add vanilla extract and sugar, then continue to beat until stiff glossy peaks form.

Lightly beat the egg yolks, then add to the egg whites and fold in gently.

Add sifted flour to the mixture and fold in gently.

Chill dough for 20 minutes.

Using a piping bag, pipe dough into 4″x1″ cookies with 1″ of separation.

Sift powdered sugar over piped cookies.

Bake for 8 minutes, then turn. Bake for another 5-7 minutes until lightly golden.

Voila! I have to say, I’m impressed King Arthur Flour. They turned out tasting pretty good, albeit a bit thin! They are slightly more gritty than normal ladyfingers, but I actually kind of enjoy the texture. Bake for a few extra minutes if you prefer the crispy lady fingers 🙂

Leave a Reply

